Art Bookshop Ireland
Fifty High Seasons, Shane Lynam - The Library Project
Fifty High Seasons, Shane Lynam - The Library Project
Fifty High Seasons, Shane Lynam - The Library Project
Fifty High Seasons, Shane Lynam - The Library Project
Fifty High Seasons, Shane Lynam - The Library Project
Fifty High Seasons, Shane Lynam - The Library Project
Fifty High Seasons, Shane Lynam - The Library Project
Fifty High Seasons, Shane Lynam - The Library Project
Fifty High Seasons, Shane Lynam - The Library Project
Fifty High Seasons, Shane Lynam - The Library Project
Fifty High Seasons, Shane Lynam - The Library Project
Fifty High Seasons, Shane Lynam - The Library Project
Ausverkauft
  • SKU: FHSSL01
  • Verfügbarkeit: Ausverkauft

Fifty High Seasons, Shane Lynam (signiert)

$47.00
Tax included.
BESCHREIBUNG

Im Jahr 1963 initiierte Präsident de Gaulle ein neues Stadtplanungsprojekt namens „La Mission Racine“, um einen Abschnitt der französischen Küste zwischen Montpellier und Perpignan zu einer Reihe von Küstenorten zu entwickeln. Für jede Stadt wurden innovative Architekten engagiert, die ihrer Zeit voraus waren, um einzigartige und ungewöhnliche Räume zu errichten, die an die lokale Umgebung angepasst waren. Ziel war es, das Gebiet zu einem Urlaubsziel zu machen, bei dem die Freizeit im Mittelpunkt steht und gleichzeitig eine alternative Einnahmequelle vor Ort zu bieten.

Das Projekt war zweifellos ein wirtschaftlicher Erfolg, doch bei La Mission Racine ging es nicht nur darum, die Region zu bereichern. Darin war eine Sozialwohnungsquote von 18 % enthalten, um mehr französischen Bürgern die Möglichkeit zu geben, ihren „congé payé“ (bezahlten Urlaub) in Anspruch zu nehmen. Es bestand die echte Entschlossenheit, eine Alternative zur teuren Côte d'Azur ohne die Exzesse ähnlicher Entwicklungen weiter südlich in Spanien zu bieten.

Shane besuchte die Gegend zum ersten Mal im Jahr 2007, als er in Frankreich lebte, und war beeindruckt, wie anders sie aussah als die malerischen Dörfer, die man oft mit dem Süden Frankreichs verbindet. Von 2010 bis 2017 reiste er regelmäßig in die sieben beteiligten Städte und dokumentierte, wie die Gegend heute, 50 Jahre später, aussieht. Obwohl einige der ursprünglichen Versprechen verblasst sind und die Infrastruktur in die Jahre gekommen ist, bleiben die zentralen Werte, insbesondere die Idee, erschwingliche Sommerferien für den Durchschnittsbürger anzubieten, von zentraler Bedeutung für die Verwaltung des Gebiets.

Selbstveröffentlicht
Auflage 750
Gebundene Ausgabe
116 Seiten
210 × 325 mm
ISBN 9781527223554

KÜRZLICH ANGESEHENE PRODUKTE

NEUESTE ANKÜNFTE

SORGFÄLTIG VON UNSEREM MITARBEITER AUSGEWÄHLT

L'ombre de ton ombre, Paul Knight

$45.00

Sight Unseen: Visualising the Unseeable through Art and Science

$45.00

Postnational Art Histories: What Is Postnational Art History?

$39.00

Enough: Artists and writers on gendered violence

$45.00

Dublin City, Suburbs & County 1970s, Keith Nolan

$14.00

this is no longer entertainment, Christodoulos Makris

$14.00

A Real Living Contact with the Things Themselves, Irénée Scalbert

$34.00

Payment for Shipping Costs

$5.00
ZURÜCK NACH OBEN

Art Bookshop Ireland
Fifty High Seasons, Shane Lynam - The Library Project
Fifty High Seasons, Shane Lynam - The Library Project
Fifty High Seasons, Shane Lynam - The Library Project
Fifty High Seasons, Shane Lynam - The Library Project
Fifty High Seasons, Shane Lynam - The Library Project
Fifty High Seasons, Shane Lynam - The Library Project
Fifty High Seasons, Shane Lynam - The Library Project
Fifty High Seasons, Shane Lynam - The Library Project
Fifty High Seasons, Shane Lynam - The Library Project
Fifty High Seasons, Shane Lynam - The Library Project
Fifty High Seasons, Shane Lynam - The Library Project
Fifty High Seasons, Shane Lynam - The Library Project

    Fifty High Seasons, Shane Lynam

    €42.00
    DESCRIPTION

    In 1963 President de Gaulle initiated a new urban planning project, known as 'La Mission Racine', to develop a stretch of French coastline between Montpellier and Perpignan into a series of coastal resorts. Ahead of its time, innovative architects were hired for each town to construct unique and unusual spaces adapted to the local environment. It aimed to turn the area into a holiday destination centered around leisure while offering an alternative source of income locally. 

    The project has undoubtedly been an economic success, however, La Mission Racine was not only about enriching the region. It included an 18% quota of social housing to allow more French citizens to take advantage of their ‘congé payé' (paid holidays). There was a real determination to provide an alternative to the expensive Cote d'Azur without the excesses of similar developments further south in Spain.

    Shane first visited the area, while living in France, in 2007 and was struck by how different it looked to the picturesque villages often associated with the south of France. From 2010 to 2017, he made regular trips to the seven towns involved documenting how the area looks today, 50 years on. Although some of the original promise has faded and the infrastructure is beginning to show its age, the central values, particularly the idea of offering affordable summer holidays for the average citizen, remain key to how the area is managed.

    Self Published
    Edition of 750
    Hardback
    116 pages
    210 × 325 mm
    ISBN: 9781527223554

    Shipping world-wide.
    Please note: Local pick-up of orders is available from
    The Library Project at 4 Temple Bar Street, Dublin 2.

    RECENTLY VIEWED PRODUCTS

    BACK TO TOP